Peter Hitchens on The Last Judgement

On a cycling trip to Burgundy he saw Rogier van der Weyden’s 15th-century Last Judgment, and this made a lasting impression. “I had scoffed at its mention in the guidebook, but now I gaped, my mouth actually hanging open, at the naked figures fleeing towards the pit of hell. I had a sudden strong sense of religion being a thing of the present day, not imprisoned under thick layers of time. My large catalogue of misdeeds replayed themselves rapidly in my head. I had absolutely no doubt that I was among the damned, if there were any damned. Van der Weyden was still earning his fee, nearly 500 years after his death.”

“The Day Peter Hitchens Gimpsed Hell” (Catholic Herald August 5, 2010) — in which the author of The Rage Against God: How Atheism Led Me to Faith
(and brother of the infamous atheist Christopher Hitchens) describes how a painting put the fear of God into his soul and put him on the straight and narrow.

Leave a Reply

